1958.2 约瑟夫-康拉德:出版史上的一个脚注

[复制链接]
跳转到指定楼层
发表于 2022-8-4 03:00:28 | 只看该作者 回帖奖励 |倒序浏览 |阅读模式

马上注册 与译者交流

您需要 登录 才可以下载或查看,没有帐号?立即注册

x
Joseph Conrad: A Footnote to Publishing History
ALFRED A. KNOPF had graduated from Columbia and was serving his apprenticeship at Doubleday, Page & Co. when his enthusiasm for Joseph Conrad first had the opportunity to express itself. It seemed to him shocking that such a master of English prose should be so little read in the United States, and when he was allowed to read the manuscript of Conrad’s novel, CHANCE, young Knopf initialed a campaign to present the author in a new light.

By Alfred A. Knopf
FEBRUARY 1958 ISSUE
ALFRED A. KNOPF

WHEN I was an undergraduate at Columbia I sometimes used to buy books at Scribner’s retail store, which was then on Fifth Avenue below Twenty-Second Street. A tall soil-spoken gentleman named Simpson worked there, and he sold me Lord Jim one day in 1910 or 1911 and thus started me reading Joseph Conrad.

That July I made my first visit to England. In my junior year I had discovered Galsworthy’s novels in a secondhand bookshop in Harlem run by Carol Cox and his father. Joel Spingarn, about to be ousted as professor of comparative literature, gave annual prizes for undergraduate stories and essays. I wrote Galsworthy telling him that I was attempting an essay on him and asking for some biographical information. How little he was known in America at that time may be gathered from the answer my teacher, John Erskine, gave me when I asked about the man who had already published Fraternity: “He’s an Englishman who writes plays for Charles Frollman” — a remark which I must have relayed to Galsworthy, who replied promptly that he didn’t write plays lor Charles Frohman or for anyone else.